This 2012 annual report on government’s implementation of the New Zealand Disability Strategy (the Disability Strategy) is drawn from information that has been collated in a new reporting framework. The framework looks at six key areas of life:
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Friends, family and community
  • Learning, participation and information
  • Environment and transport
  • Employment and income
  • Leisure and recreation.

Each of these six key areas is cross-referenced to the Disability Strategy objectives and the Articles of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (the Disability Convention).

The framework assists government agencies to focus on the different areas of life where government activity may impact an individual, and contribute to a fully inclusive society. The reporting information on how agencies’ policies, strategies and services include and support disabled people is collated under each of these areas and subsections. An overview of the framework is attached as Appendix 1.

This annual report summarises government agencies’ information using this framework, highlighting areas of service access and improvement, and initiatives intended to bring about significant improvement in the medium to long term for disabled people.

In addition, progress is also reported on the Ministerial Committee for Disability Issues’ cross-government Disability Action Plan.

The government agency reporting information, organised using the framework, will be accessible through the Office for Disability Issues website ( ). It will allow tracking of progress, across different initiatives, via updates from government agencies and provide an ongoing information source for each year’s annual report for the Disability Strategy going forward.

Tell us what you think

Page last updated: