NZSL Award winners announced

Congratulations to the winners (see below), and all those who were nominated, as well as hosts Deaf Aotearoa.

The NZSL Awards give recognition to, and celebrate, the standout achievements in promoting the uptake and use of NZSL and meeting the language needs of the Deaf community.

This year's Awards held on 10 May 2018, during NZSL Week, were attended by the Minister for Disability Issues and other key people, organisations and businesses committed to the promotion of NZSL and Deaf culture.

Read Minister for Disability Issues media release

Watch NZSL video below

And the winners are...

NZSL in the Media – Sara Pivac Alexander ( LearnNZSL)

NZSL in Health – Natasha Jumelet (Deaf Wellbeing Society)

NZSL in Early Childhood Education – Joint winners, Bridget Warmouth and Casa Nova Kindergarten

NZSL in Schools – Redwood Primary School

NZSL Employer – Andy Firth (Paul Kelly Motors)

NZSL in Teaching – Susie Ovens

NZSL Accessible Service – Coffee Educators

Interpreter of the Year – Angela Murray

NZSL in Sports – Clive Morgan

NZSL in the Arts – Laura Haughey (Equal Voices Arts)

NZSL in Government Agencies – Nick Linton (NZ Fire Service)

Supreme Long-standing Service Award – Lesley Carmichael

Supreme Long-standing Service Award – Lynette Pivac

Youth Champion – Katherine Hickson

Maori Champion – Jared Flitcroft

NZSL Champion – Josje Lelijveld


Tell us what you think

Page last updated: